Self-fullfilling Prophecies

evan_emailver

“What you think, you become; What you feel, you attract; What you imagine, you create.”
~Author Unknown

In psychology this statement would be referred to as self-fulfilling prophecies.  Can negative experiences in ones home-life, school days and work environment play a factor so strongly that it could consume and destroy ones life? What about positive stimuli effecting the opposite? “You’re an idiot!” or “You’re an absolute genius!”… if one of these statements is continually reinforced in one’s life, will it be the determining factor for that individual?

I believe it can… but I don’t think it has to. I can speak from personal experience… I grew up in a dysfunctional home in more ways than you can shake a stick at. I was not physically or sexually abused, but there were other factors that could have had a devastating effect on me. I believe there are certain things I struggle with because of the issues… but there is no way in the world I would ever allow them to control or destroy me  ….I’m too stubborn and strong-willed.

I refuse to let anything have control over me. I refuse to let the negative factors of my child-hood play that big a role in my life. I believe that they have effected the way I deal with things… and I wish I could have more victory, but I recognize it and continue to strive with the Lord’s help to press on to be better… to be stronger… to be victorious.

What you tell a child, how you treat a child and how you respond to a child can play a critical factor in the development of a child’s personality and the way they feel about themselves.  It will surely have its toll…

If you have allowed some negative things to affect your life, step back and take a deep breath and say to yourself…
“I will believe I am something good… and become that.  I will feel I am worthwhile, and I will attract that worthiness. I will imagine the life I want… and I will work at creating it.”
… and you can.

We were all children once… some of us have emotional scars and wounds.  Some of us have children and wish to be better parents and not repeat the mistakes of our parents.  And you can…. by trusting in Him and looking to the source of hope… you can.

“I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13
Until next time,
Jean

Leave a Reply

