Character

DPP_0005

“The content of your character is your choice. Day by day, what you do is who you become.” ~Heraclitus

Character is one thing that once you’ve acquired it, it becomes one with you.
The potential for a desirable character is one that should be sought after.
No matter what you attempt, you’ll eventually become what you think of yourself.
You’ll fill your life with what you feel… what you want to be… what you desire.
You are what you allow yourself to spend time with, at and in.

There’s a children’s song that goes, ‘Be careful little eyes what you see; be careful little ears what you hear; be careful little feet where you go.’ There’s something very awe-inspiring in these childish lyrics. Something so true and daunting.

What you feed grows, what you starve dies… so is true not just with living things, but with our minds and souls and hearts.

My children think I go overboard with some things… and maybe I do.  But my motives are very good and right.

They are love.
Love for their souls and their lives.

Our children will accuse us of being overbearing and too strict. They don’t understand that we genuinely want what’s best for them… for their souls. Children are seeking adventure and those forbidden things are oh so tempting.

My daughter is much like myself… that’s good and that’s bad. She is strong-willed (like me) and very determined (like me). We butt heads occasionally because of this. I want so desperately to protect her… but she has informed me, on more than one occasion, that she will have to learn some things on her own. It’s her life and she realizes that she’ll make mistakes along the road… but their her mistakes to be made. True enough.

But as a mother, I long to grab her up and hold onto her and protect her from all the evil and dangers. I long to be the shield that goes before her to withstand all the fiery darts of the wicked one.

I want to be… her mommy like when she was little.
I am not and neither is she.
Taylor is a young woman with drive and determination.
She will overcome. She will succeed. She will be the woman I know God created her to be…

Until next time,
Jean

2 thoughts on “Character

  1. This is so true. It is the hardest thing in the world to let our children grow up but I am sure the love that you have for your daughter will protect her as she makes her way in the world 🙂

  2. hi jean, so true. parents affection is something that is never ending. i miss my pampering when i recollect them. my best wishes for your daughters bright future.

Leave a Reply

