Never let me go…

myfivesons_emailver

“A mother and her child were crossing a river… the mother asked her child to please hold her hand, but the small child quickly retorted, “No, you hold my hand!” The mother looking at her child perplexed asked what the difference would be. Her child innocently replied, “If I hold your hand and something happens to me I might let go of yours. But I know that no matter what happens, you’ll never let go of mine.” Author unknown

I think we’ve all had moments with our children like the one described above. Our children have total faith and trust in us. They rely on us for their basic needs and trust that we’ll provide them. Shelter, warm meals, clean clothes and unconditional love are the four basics in my opinion with the later being of utmost importance.

When I look at my children and reminese over the years gone by with the older ones, there is a longing that I would have done things differently… done things with a bit more patience… thought things through a bit more clearly.  I don’t think I’m the only mom to feel that way. I also look back over the years and believe that I did my best with what I had at those moments… I know that my heart was in the right place…  I know that I genuinely tried to show them love the best I could.

I’ve always said that being a mother is schooling in itself… no matter how many little souls you claim. Yes, the more you are blessed with can add it’s challenges. The different personalities and temperaments… the easy ones and the tad-bit more difficult ones. Parenting is by far life’s largest classroom.

…but in the end I believe that if we can look back and say, “I did my very best and gave all the love my heart could give…”

They’ll know
They’ll forgive our short-comings
They’ll be able to come to us and thank us for all we did… faults and all

A mother holds her child’s hand only for a short while.  Before we know it they’re ‘too big’ for that and even more quickly they’re off and on the wings of adulthood.  Although some days I feel like I’m just stumbling about, I know deep in my heart that I love being a mommy and wouldn’t change that a bit… and I’ll never let them go.

Until next time,
Jean

Leave a Reply

