Irony

DPP_0009
“Life is so ironic. It takes sadness to know what happiness is, noise to appreciate silence and absence to value presence.”
Lessons Learned in Life

With six children, five of them boys,
the youngest two ages six and three…
silence is rare and golden to this mommy.

I write after everyone is in bed…

When…
the house is quiet and I can feel.

I can feel the void.
I can feel the emptiness.
I can feel the ache.
I can feel the silence that brings peace to a long day.

When…
the house is quiet and I can see.

I can see in my minds thoughts.
I can see my hearts aches and joys.
I can see moments I treasure.
Moments I want to capture here forever.
I can see what my soul is hungry for.

When…
the house is quiet and I can hear.

I can hear the silence that I treasure so deeply.
I can hear the soft hum of the flames in the cook stove.
I can hear the gentle crackling of the wood.
I can hear my heart and what it’s telling me.

When…
the house is quiet and I can.

My days will not forever be filled with the racket of little boys.
Toy trucks and tractors plowing the fields of corn on the living room carpet.
Talking and playing and banging and screeching.
Little boy noise.
Noise that seems endless will all too soon be only a memory.

I know that I will miss it eventually…
I know.

But right now…
I long for silence.
Just a bit of silence in the wee hours of the night.
Here in the dark hours is where I find my silence
until the morning sun rises
and my day begins afresh…

With my beloved little boy noise.

DPP_0012

Until next time,
Jean

9 thoughts on “Irony

  1. Your post was SO beautiful! Very moving and inspiring. Of my ten children, eight are boys. I only have four left at home and it’s much too quiet. Bless you! And thank you for sharing.

  2. What a special love we mothers share for our children. I grew up in a family of nine, I had four brothers and four sisters. I am sure my mother felt this way many times. My three children and 14 grand children are one of my greatest treasures that God has given me. I love all your writings Jean. Keep on inspiring us.

Leave a Reply

