Till Death Do Us Part

DPP_0005

“A mother’s love for her child is like nothing else in the world. It knows no law, no pity, it dares all things and crushes down remorselessly all that stands in its path.” Agatha Christie

‘Till death do us part’ is more typically thought of as a marriage vow… but wouldn’t you agree that it’s as much if not more passionately felt from the heart of a mother?  This very deep, heartfelt vow whispered into the small ear of a new-born baby being held for the first time. This vow between mother and child, I believe, is one that will rarely be broken.

The relationships I have with each of my children varies due to both age and gender. The little boys, three and six are still at that ‘need me’ stage… that can be wonderful and wearing at the same time. My little boys still love me to cuddle them while the older ones are looking for more verbal reassurance and support of their manliness. Taylor is looking to feel appreciated and respected for the woman she’s becoming.

I have several friends who’ve lost children both unexpectedly as well as to serious health issues. My heart mourned for my friends losses, yet I couldn’t bear the thought of loosing one of my own. I secretly thanked God that mine were spared. I felt so selfish for feeling like that… yet at the same time, I can’t believe I was the only one holding my children a little tighter the nights of those funerals.

We only hold onto our children for a short period of time. We don’t know if we’ll see them in the morning or again before bed…  My hearts prayer is that each one will know my deepest love for them and fully realize it will only be till death does it part.

Those mothers loved their children… and yes it was till death did they part…
Until next time,
Jean

13 thoughts on “Till Death Do Us Part

  1. Beautiful post – and one that I only now understand because I have a child of my own. Your post reminds me of the birth sampler pattern (and will stitch come the new year) for my little one… “To have a child is to forever have your heart walk around outside your body.”

    Blessings to you…

    • Hi Melissa…
      thanks for sharing… and thanks so much for such a kind compliment to compare my post too, that is very special!
      Our children are for sure that!
      Be blessed,
      Jean

  2. This was a difficult post for me to read.
    I have four children, one of whom died when he was nearly eleven weeks old.
    When you lose a baby you lose all the future they should have had, all the smiles and tears you should have shared.
    Although my baby died twenty-eight years ago he is still with me, a mother’s love is not bounded by Till Death Us Do Part.
    I am sharing a link to a beautiful song by Jetty Rae, a talented singer who lost her first baby girl. I hope you will watch it and I pray you will never be the woman kneeling on the jetty.

    • Hi Suzanna…
      Thanks so much for sharing both your story and the video…
      Although I have never personally lost a living child, I’ve experienced several miscarriages. I have six healthy children that I can shed all my love upon.
      My heart goes out to you and all those that have lost a child…
      many blessings to you…
      Jean

  3. So very, very true Jean. I was just trying to explain unconditional love for my children to my partner Robert who has never had a child. Very hard thing to do. Visiting you thru UBC and hoping you’re on your way to a lovely week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

