Her Words

DPP_0014

The phone rang… it was Taylor. Happy to hear from her I answered cheerfully, “Hello!”

She didn’t say hello, but immediately asked, “When did that happen?”

She’d just read my blog post from the other day…  the one on intuition and me waking up in the middle of the night praying for her.

You see, I hadn’t told her about it because I didn’t want her to worry or freak out.  She’s a young woman driving to work at 3 am in the country.  There’s not a lot of traffic or people around, so it can be a little ‘spooky’…

I told her I actually couldn’t remember the night.  She wondered what time I woke up and prayed.
“It was about 3:30 am’ish,” I said.

Then she tells me what she didn’t want to tell me so I wouldn’t worry or freak out.

One morning on her way to work she almost ran a stop sign because she could hardly stay awake. There was an on-coming vehicle. It was very close she said.

Goosebumps. For both of us.

We talked a bit about the incident and the blog post… then I asked her, “Do you like my writing?”

“It sucks!” she says laughing.

“Really! You brat!” I said laughing back.

“No I like your writing… it’s interesting and captures your attention and makes you want to keep reading. Really… I like it mom…”

I respect her opinion because she’s an avid reader and a very intelligent young woman.
I respect her opinion because I know she wouldn’t blow smoke up my you know what.
I respect her opinion because I love her.

Her words encouraged me more than any other person’s could…
Her words were more precious to me than if they’d come from a Pulitzer prize winner…
Her words touched my heart more than words can describe…

As her mother there are some words that I’ve spoken over the years that I wish with all my heart that I could take back… words said hastily and quickly regretted…

My words… if only… if only…

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you oh God…”

Until next time,
Jean

7 thoughts on “Her Words

  1. Jean, you gave a beautiful example of a compassionate, caring parent who is worried about his child. Seeking prayer for your relief as well as for your child’s protection is the only way from which miracles can evolve. Great writing style 🙂

  2. It sounds like you have a wonderful relationship with your daughter – something, indeed to cherish, and probably why yu are so in tune. I do believe in a mother’s intuition. I am relieved to find that your daughter is OK. My son, for several months recently, had to work night shift, also in a rural area . I had to try hard not to worry about him (especially in bad weather).

    • Hi Alana…
      Thanks for the kind words! We’ve for sure ‘grown’ a lot as she and I have gotten older. Our relationship, like us has matured and we for sure have grown much closer. Honestly, I think now that she’s moved away and we have our ‘own’ spaces, things are for sure better too!
      She was always my right hand and the best helper a mother could hope for… I truly miss her, but I am at the same time so thrilled for now as she has taken the step out from under my wings…
      Thanks for stopping by,
      Jean

  3. Beautiful. Words carry so much power. They are a gift to us, and with time we learn how to use them wisely.

    Blessings.
    Penny

Leave a Reply

