The Creative Listener

DPP_0038

As a mother of six I often have, shall I say ‘creative listening’. I think most mothers and fathers reading this fully understand the concept I’m talking about.  We tend to do the ‘ah-ha… yup… OK honey…’ not really paying attention responses when we’re busy and not truly interested in what’s being said.

Grandma always teased about grandpa having ‘selective hearing’! I guess I inherited that skill as well… but I like creative listener better!

There are times when we find ourselves trapped in our driveway by our neighbor, who has nothing better to do then tell the same stories you’ve heard for the last, fill in the number, years.

Or a friend is being whiny (again) about the same issues from last week.

Or one of the children is trying to describe something not that interesting…

Most people including our children can sense when we’re not really interested… when we’re not really listening… when we’re doing the ‘ah-ha… yup.. OK honey…’ fake business.

What do we do?

Here’s where in my life I try to apply that golden rule, do unto others as I would have them do unto me. It isn’t always easy, especially when we’re in a hurry.

Today and everyday may we be a friend to the weary, a ‘creative listener’ to the lonely and a light to shine the way,

Until next time,
Jean

13 thoughts on “The Creative Listener

  1. Omg, growing up in a large, LOUD, Italian family I remember zoning out all the noise and purposely NOT listening, knowing full well, whatever it was everybody was yammering on about would be repeated a bazillion times so if you missed it the first time around, trust me, one of the Joey’s would be sure to fill you in! My kids would never allow me the zone out. They’d been to enough family gatherings to know the glazed look in my eye and they would always call me out on it, “Mooom you’re not listening..” Now that they are grown with families of their own I wish I had listened more.. It doesn’t take much to lend an attentive ear.. Lessons learned..
    Came over from the UBC on FB. And I’m glad I did. 🙂

    • Hi Mimi… thanks so much for coming over! I just love when my readers can be reminded of past, happy, funny or whatever memories. It’s even more special when you all share them here…
      Best,
      Jean

  2. Oh my gosh, I just did this to my little boy when he was in the bath. He ended up saying ‘you’re not listening’ for me to pay attention to him. He’s only little for a short time and usually has a lot of interesting and outrageous things to say, so I shall have to start practicing some more creative listening too.

  3. I have a friend that occasionally I drift into this mode with. Fortunately, my dad prepared me for this (the man who told the same set of jokes hundred of times), and I can occasionally (in best salesman fashion) focus, or at least admit that I am too tired to paly attention.

Leave a Reply

