Nothing but leaves….

…”And seeing a fig tree afar off having leaves, he came, if haply he might find any thing thereon: and when he came to it, he found nothing but leaves; for the time of figs was not yet.” Mark 11:13

robin_in_garden

Recently we heard a message preached using this verse to show how we as Christians can look good on the outside, but on the inside we are quite the opposite. The point was bearing fruit as Christians and letting our light shine to others. We are taught that it is through grace that we are saved and praise the Lord that is the truth… but it also goes on to say that we shall be judged by our works.

What do I do when I see a beggarly person holding a sign stating his hunger and will work? What is my reaction to the lady that cuts me off on the road? How do I react when the cashier at the grocery store is flippant and rude to me?

‘As you have done it unto the least of these my brethren, so you have done it unto me…’ says our Lord.

How can we take this verse and apply it to our lives? When we do some self examination, do we see we’re nothing but leaves… the fruit is pretty sparce if any at all… but more importantly, how does He see us?

I long to be a fig tree bearing fruit for His glory that on that blessed day I shall hear those beautiful words… ‘enter though in…’

Until next time,
Jean

Leave a Reply

